top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRuth Smethurst

Falling in Love

My goal for next year (from NOW) is to fall back in love with myself and the world and life again.


Odd as it may seem for me to say that – because after all my ‘business’ is all about play and playfulness – I have found myself increasingly wearied by the PUSH of bringing this idea to the world and having to sell it as a business.


Trying to convince people to lighten up, have fun, find what brings them joy, get in touch with their inner sparkle and play life their way is flipping tiring.



Diving into the ocean of possibilities

Stopping trying to do it the way that the current business advice says it should be done.


Many marketers and business coaches out there are telling business people to highlight the pain that people are feeling so they can then sell their product or service as a solution to this pain.


Makes logical sense right?

WRONG…

(well for me it is! And in my world, what is right for me is what matters, as it should be for you in your world.)


I have spent the last 12-18 months getting clear / certain on what my ideal customer’s pain is, and all that has done is made the pain more clear – for them AND for me.


Now why would I want more of that?


We are all too painfully aware of how crap certain things are in life

How often we let others and ourselves down

Where we are less than perfect

What is stuck and lifeless in our day to day existence

When we have failed to meet a deadline or promise we made to ourselves

Who we are at odds with and how that hurts us…


Now did that last paragraph make you feel great!?!??!


Did it fill you with the awe and wonder of life?


Are you now inspired to be more of the gorgeous being that you are?


NO – you are not, you are just reminded of all that you might be struggling with and you can’t un-read those words.


BUT you can shift yourself away from the feelings they create – but that takes energy and effort and re-focussing.

FFS ain’t nobody got time for that.


But that is what marketing is doing all the time – taking you on that emotional journey and then telling you that they are the best person to help you back from that dark, lonely, ugly, pathetic, bereft place.


Well I personally have had enough of being lead on a not so merry dance each time someone is trying to sell me something.


I have also had enough of trying to write and communicate to that place of pain in others, so that they will think that I am the most understanding, knowledgeable and helpful person on the subject and they should pay me shit loads of money to heal their pain.


My calling in this life is NOT to create words of shame, guilt and pain.

My desire is not to rub peoples shit in their face to get them to face up to it.

(most of us have more than had enough of that smell)


In a way I feel I have wasted the past year trying to get people to see the dullness of their lives and to buy into our sparkly way of living.


How very dare I assume that people are not content with exactly how their lives are…

How very dare I suppose that people want to play…

How very dare I poke at peoples pain for my benefit…


But I did dare and it didn’t work – not for them, not for me, not for my business.

It just created more of the pain and struggle I was supposedly trying to work on fixing – for me and for them.



All too often it has felt like I have been fighting other people’s disbelief, pain, misery, hardships – because I was highlighting it and offering myself as a saviour of sorts (let Jesus be Jesus – it’s not my job! Thank God!)


But I was trying to be joyful and frivolous to show that there is fun in life and plenty to be thankful for, only to keep hearing the, ‘well it’s hard’ or ‘its really difficult’ phrases of self defeat. Those phrases that are like an excuse just in case things aren’t all hunky dory and then one can fall back on the level of difficulty as a reason for misery.


Ugh – it’s been tiring to watch, to hear, and feel.


And it’s shown me the contrast of what I don’t want for 2019.



So I have resolved,

resoluted,

resolutioned,

New Year decided,

Intended

To no longer buy into or try and sell the PAIN message.


I desire to write, speak and bring into existence a world I love being in and it starts with loving who I am, why I am, what I am and being excited and enthusiastic about life.


To constantly be reminded of how I am falling short, failing and not good enough is not helpful and not what I require to fill my mind and heart with.


Pish to being realistic and ‘living in the REAL world. There are more than enough reminders out there that will keep me stuck in a quagmire of hopeless despair that I supposedly need rescuing from.


But this year I have learned – that deep down in my being learned - that I don’t need rescuing. Wherever I am, whatever I am experiencing, why it is happening is MY experience, my life, my way and I have the answer, solution, capability, imagination, tenacity, creativity and wisdom to navigate it exactly as I choose to.

MY WAY.


SO why would I continue to ask other people to feel that way to draw attention to what I offer?

In the work I do I spend a lot of time and energy unraveling stories, beliefs, feelings, patterns, hurts, doubts, fears but that is only when and if people are ready to unravel and re-write those themselves.


I don’t need to push them to get there.


I want to create a picture, a feeling, a belief, a hope, an inspiration that draws people towards falling in love with themselves, the world and their life…

I desire to keep my attention, imagination, and energy pointed in the direction of loving life and all its possibilities.

I am intending to only share the infinite possibilities and inspirations that life offers as I perceive them and am able to share them.

I am NOT here to FIX anyone or to offer a solution.

I am here to create,

to imagineer,

to support,

to enhance,

to enliven,

to inspire with words, pictures, spaces and places of hope, understanding, joy and boundless possibilities of LIFE.


Because if I am loving life and all that I am in this life then that is a contagious thing. And if I can encourage more people to be their kind of loving life contagious then the world is onto a winner.

So I am committing to share and speak only of all the things which excite and enliven me in this life, which requires me to consider all the things I LOVE and desire to see, hear, feel, do and be.



I love a story where I can connect to the people, the journey, the emotion, the magic, the possibilities, the unknown and the happy ending.


I love ideas that bring my soul alive, because they encourage me to think of possibilities beyond what I have so far experienced. And those ideas don’t have to come to life and be achieved, they simply have to be dreamed and imagined to create the feeling and magic of them inside me. Which in itself changes me and helps me become more of who I am.


I love crazy randomness like

* Thinking of someone and sending them message straight away

* Remembering something about what someone is experiencing or going through and sending them some sort of encouragement or solution.

* Having an idea to make or do something and doing it right there and then

* Speaking to a stranger and finding out who they are and why they are and getting to make a new connection

* Allowing my mind to wander and perceive things in ways that are unexpected and out of the ordinary – daydreaming is my favourite

* Clutter clearing my whole house and moving all the rooms around



Call it what you like

Virtue signaling

Egotistical ranting

Narcissistic reveling in my own world



What you think of me WILL NOT be my focus.

How to get people to BUY what I offer will not be my focus.

Trying to show people that I am an expert in my field will not be my focus.

Offering solutions to people’s pain will not be my focus.

The old way of finding the client’s pain and talking to the struggle is no longer an offering I want to bring to the world.


I am committing to falling in love with myself, the world and life.

Not searching for some external outcome but rather an inner homecoming.


To experience my body, my mind, my soul, the world around me, my life in the ways that make me come alive and fall in love with being alive – over and over and over again.


* With each sunrise and sunset.

* With each phase of the moon that my eyes get to look upon.

* With every moment I remember to touch my bare feet to the soil and place my hands in the earth.

* With the eye to eye and heart to heart connections with the people who grace my day with their unique presence.

* With the remembering and reflecting on previous things and coating them in joy and appreciation regardless of expectations fulfilled or not.

* With all the choices I make to follow my intuition and then revel and smile at the feeling in my belly of having followed my gut – even if I don’t physically see the outcome.

* With every touch of my skin and movement of my limbs that reminds me of the amazing body I am travelling in.

* With every bright idea, inspired thought, crazy imagining that floats through my mind and sparks joy in my heart by merely being thought.

* With opportunities to create things and spaces and connections and energy that are beautiful and allow the beholder to enjoy and know that there is plenty in the world to smile at.

* With the knowing that as I open my heart, my mind, my eyes, my ears, my body to endless possibilities that this life has to offer and continually say YES to life, that I am expanded.


And will experience that magical floating in my being of being in love.

The lightness of heart that feels like freedom while being anchored to this life with deep knowing that I am exactly where I am meant to be.


Now that is something worth having, doing and being in 2019.

What are you excited about, choosing and creating from this moment onward?

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page